270799 Posts in 19739 Topics - by 1829 Members - Latest Member: Simplesimon

Hello Guest
Show unread posts since last visit.
Show new replies to your posts.

Author Topic: 12v hp modifications  (Read 6524 times)

Offline sanddragonslayer

• SW Region Lead
  • Mechanical God!!!
  • the voices tell me.... BUILD BUILD BUILD
  • Awards:
    300kShadeTreeROTMContributor
12v hp modifications
« on: August 12, 2010, 06:05:53 pm »
 Although ive been a regular here on the site, i am a newbie to the 12v and i would like to share what i have learned so far.

Lets start with the Achilles Heel of the 12v motor: the Killer Dowel Pin or KDP. It is used in the assembly process of the timing cover, and is simply pressed in. It will eventually fall out and can wreak havoc on your timing gears. Failing that, it will simply drop down into your oil pan in which case your one lucky person. You can fix this several ways: have your dealer do it, do it yourself with a bolt and a fender washer that's been modified, buy a kit from your Cummins Dealer, or buy a kit from a performance site. perhaps some of our friendly local vendors can get them.

http://www.dodgeownerforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=13711.0

The first thing to go about getting power is getting gauges to monitor your engine. A Pyrometer and Boost gauge are necessary for all rigs, while a tranny temp gauge is advised on automatics. You should never let the Pyro exceed 1250* for very long, or you will melt something. With stock headstuds and gaskets, you should not exceed 45 lbs of boost (if you are running reasonable timing) or you will blow a head. You may also want a fuel pressure gauge. They aren't necessary, but they do help in diagnosing some of the problems that come up concerning the fuel system. To address the head issues, you will want to buy some head studs and possibly O-ring or fire-ring the head as well as a thicker gasket.