270799 Posts in 19739 Topics - by 1829 Members - Latest Member: Simplesimon

Hello Guest
Show unread posts since last visit.
Show new replies to your posts.

Author Topic: 2nd Generation Dodge Ram Headlamp Relay  (Read 2031 times)

Offline jason.w

• Sr Technician
  • Awards:
    Donor
2nd Generation Dodge Ram Headlamp Relay
« on: August 14, 2008, 04:58:56 am »
This is my first attempt at a write up. Please let me know what you guys think, and tell me any corrections you think should be made.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Headlamp Relay Write-up
for 2nd Generation Dodge Rams
w/o Sport Package
Version 1.0

Disclaimer: By following this write-up, you assume all responsibilities for any consequences (negative or positive) that may come from it.

Materials Needed:
·Two 30A automotive relays
·Two single automotive fuse holders
·Two new 9004 type headlight harnesses (9007 headlight harnesses will also work, same unit)
·14 gauge wire and 16 gauge wire (I wouldn’t go any smaller than that)
·Wire cutter
·Wire stripper
·Soldering gun and solder wire (not absolutely necessary, but would give you better connections)
·Electrical tape

Important Terms:
·“Attach” – When I use this word, I mean to twist together, solder, crimp, or use whatever means you deem fit to attach wires together. ALWAYS use electrical tape over top of whatever connection you make.

Directions:
1) First, find a good place to mount the relays inside the engine bay. I chose to do it right next to the driver’s side headlamp, close to the battery.