270799 Posts in 19739 Topics - by 1829 Members - Latest Member: Simplesimon

Hello Guest
Show unread posts since last visit.
Show new replies to your posts.

Author Topic: Tow/haul with Ram 3500 diesel  (Read 1542 times)

Offline supe

• Awards:
Tow/haul with Ram 3500 diesel
« on: June 13, 2016, 07:43:39 pm »
 :banging: I've just returned from the Oregon coast from my first trip with my new (to me) 2011 Ram 3500 diesel. I'm also fairly new to hauling a 5th wheel trailer so everything that happens when I hit the haul/tow and J brake both going up and also down hills makes me wonder if I'm doing it right.  The diesel is a lot better than the equivalent gas powered Ram that I traded in for the diesel but I can't control the shifting when I'm in the haul/tow mode. It's a wonderful thing going up the hills but if the hill is steep, when I start going down, the transmission shifts down once (good thing) but then it shifts down a second time unless I touch the gas pedal, which really increases the RPMs (upwards to 2500 and above) and slows the truck much more than is necessary. I have tried slowing down as I crest the hill, holding the transmission down a gear with the +- on the shift lever and feathering the gas pedal but can't seem to find the secret. I'm worried that I'll hurt the truck with the high RPM's that develop, and also I don't like to unnecessarily hold up traffic. Any wisdom from some of you veterans would be most appreciated.
Supe

Offline ERT

• Tech Certified
  • Sr Technician
  • Awards:
    200KROTMTech Certified
Re: Tow/haul with Ram 3500 diesel
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 03:48:22 am »
Just take it out of tow/haul going down the hill and use the manual control on the shifter with the exhaust brake on.

:cheers:

Offline Smitty

• Service Manager
  • Awards:
    100KDonorUSAF
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2016, 11:38:15 am »
Welcome to the forum...