270799 Posts in 19739 Topics - by 1829 Members - Latest Member: Simplesimon

Hello Guest
Show unread posts since last visit.
Show new replies to your posts.

Author Topic: Addition to dynatrac freespin hub conversion  (Read 7253 times)

Offline REDR6

• Master Technician
  • Awards:
    Marine Corp
Addition to dynatrac freespin hub conversion
« on: June 27, 2011, 07:40:41 pm »
Danny did a really good one here

http://www.dodgeownerforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=5222.0

Since I'm not a mechanic, I had different problems that he didn't mention. So I'm just going to try to add to his a little.

Let me start by saying that I did this at the auto hobby shop on base that has all kinds of tools. If you don't have a full shop worth of stuff, this is going to be pretty hard. You need a 1 11/16" socket, a torque wrench, a 12 point metric sockets (they come in just about any regular tool kit), allen keys, a spanner socket (I couldn't find a size on it), a ball joint press, a vise, and a BUNCH of grease. I mean a bunch...

Step 1
Inspect everything, make sure that you have everything. Try to test fit as much of it as you can to make sure it is all going together.

Step 2
Press the new studs into the outer hub. I used a vise, ball joint press and air gun. Make sure they are ALL the way in and don't just try to pull them through with a nut.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2011, 07:43:52 pm by REDR6 »
Life sucks.....so drop your pants and let the good times roll!

I think life is too short to spend your time working someplace where people don't crap their pants at the mere sight of you.

2001 Ram 2500 4x4 auto!

Offline REDR6

• Master Technician
  • Awards:
    Marine Corp
Re: Addition to dynatrac freespin hub conversion
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 07:42:43 pm »
Step 3
Take that big freakin bolt off. It's the one that SHOULD have a pin through the middle of it and it is right in the middle of the spinny thing with the studs.

Step 4